• RCTC Students Selected for Phi Theta Kappa

    • Share:
    December 07, 2017

    (Rochester, MN) Rochester Community and Technical College is pleased to announce 48 RCTC students have been selected for induction into RCTC’s Omicron Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society.
    “RCTC’s Phi Theta Kappa students exemplify what it means to make the most out of a community college experience, said PTK Advisor, Jamie Mahlberg. Ed. D..  “These students are guided by the hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Fellowship, and Service and find ways to give back to the campus community.”

    The 2017-2018 PTK officers (pictured left to right) include: Anthony White, Joshua Beecher, Drew Brinker, Daniel Medin, Tanner Garity. PTK officers not pictured include Sarah Brakebill-Hacke and Janelle Bohnel.
    Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society founded to recognize and encourage academic achievement among two-year college students. It offers opportunities for the development of leadership and service, the exchange of ideas in an intellectual climate, fellowship for scholars, and simulation of interest in academic excellence. Part-time, full-time and international students currently enrolled at RCTC and working on a certificate, diploma, or degree are eligible if they meet one of these requirements: at least a 3.5 GPA after 12 credit hours (1000 level or higher) at RCTC or at Least a 3.4 GPA after 16 credit hours (1000 level or higher) at RCTC.
    Rochester Community and Technical College (formerly Rochester Junior College) was a founding member of Phi Theta Kappa with the formation of the Omnicron Chapter in January 1927. The RCTC chapter is among the oldest in the nation. 
    For more information about RCTC’s PTK program, contact jamie.mahlberg@rctc.edu or 507-280-5074.
    Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1,300 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada and multiple countries.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.
    Established in 1915, RCTC is the largest higher education provider in the fastest-growing city in Minnesota, serving more than 8,000 students a year in credit courses and nearly 3,700 in non-credit continuing and workforce education programs. RCTC combines the best in liberal arts, technical, and life-long learning with more than 70 credit-based programs and over 100 credential options. RCTC’s expansive 518-acre campus includes university partnerships, a diverse student body, and a vibrant student life program. RCTC provides a unique learning environment that offers the feel of a four-year university campus with the commitment to access and opportunity of a two-year college.
    The Minnesota State system consists of 37 colleges and universities with over 16,000 employees offering nearly 4,000 educational programs to nearly 400,000 students. It is the fifth-largest higher education system in the United States.
    RCTC is a member of the Minnesota State system.